Resourcesexpect
PRESS RELEASEINSIGHTS
  • Overview
  • Professionals

67 Spilman Attorneys Recognized by Best Lawyers
August 15, 2019
Charleston, W.Va. — Spilman Thomas & Battle (Spilman) announced that 67 of the firm's attorneys were selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2020 directory of leading attorneys.

The Best Lawyers in America, published by Woodward White, Inc., is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 55,000 leading attorneys cast more than 7.4 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas. More information on the research process can be found at www.bestlawyers.com.

The following Spilman attorneys were selected by their peers in their respective areas of practice:
  • Debra Lee Allen: Financial Services Regulation Law
  • John F. Allevato: Litigation and Controversy – Tax, Tax Law, Trusts and Estates
  • Andrew P. Arbogast: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
  • Michael J. Basile: Corporate Law, Government Relations Practice, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • H. Dill Battle III: Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers
  • Elizabeth A. Benedetto: Banking and Finance Law, Corporate Law
  • Samuel M. Brock III: Employment Law – Management, Litigation – ERISA
  • Carter R. Brothers: Commercial Finance Law, Trusts and Estates
  • Kevin L. Carr: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Carl H. Cather III: Banking and Finance Law, Corporate Law
  • Mark D. Clark: Government Relations Practice
  • Amy King Condaras: Banking and Finance Law, Commercial Finance Law
  • James S. Crockett, Jr.: Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Banking and Finance, Litigation – Construction, Litigation – Environmental, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • David R. Croft: Corporate Law, Tax Law
  • K. Paul Davis (Retired, Of Counsel): Corporate Law
  • F. B. Webster Day: Corporate Law, Public Finance Law
  • Paula L. Durst: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Stephanie U. Eaton: Litigation – Construction, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Sally E. Edison: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Patrick R. Esposito II: Corporate Law
  • Lee F. Feinberg: Energy Law, Utilities Law
  • David P. Ferretti: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Michael S. Garrison: Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Nancy A. Green: Litigation – Insurance
  • Laura E. Hayes: Insurance Law
  • Mark E. Heath: Energy Law
  • Matthew P. Heiskell: Commercial Litigation, Corporate Law
  • Carl H. Hellerstedt, Jr.: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Brian C. Helmick: Corporate Law, Project Finance Law, Public Finance Law
  • William M. Herlihy: Corporate Law, Energy Law, Natural Resources Law
  • Eric W. Iskra: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Bruce M. Jacobs: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Corporate Law, Financial Services Regulation Law, Litigation – Banking and Finance, Litigation – Bankruptcy
  • Heather Heiskell Jones: Litigation - Insurance, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Eric E. Kinder: Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Clifford F. Kinney, Jr.: Litigation – Construction, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
  • Robert R. Leight: Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Neva G. Lusk: Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: White-Collar
  • Alexander Macia: Energy Regulatory Law, Government Relations Practice
  • Nicholas P. Mooney II: Financial Services Regulation Law, Litigation – Banking and Finance
  • Glen A. Murphy: Litigation – Insurance
  • Bryan S. Neft: Commercial Litigation
  • Julian E. Neiser: Construction Law
  • Joyce F. Ofsa: Real Estate Law
  • Paul G. Papadopoulos: Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law, Corporate Law, Tax Law
  • Don C. A. Parker: Insurance Law
  • Niall A. Paul: Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Environmental, Litigation – Labor and Employment, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Peter M. Pearl: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Corporate Law
  • Sharon L. “Shari” Potter: Commercial Litigation
  • Nicholas S. Preservati: Energy Law, Natural Resources Law
  • Peter R. Rich: Employment Law – Management
  • Susan J. Riggs: Utilities Law
  • David L. Robertson: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management
  • Edward W. Rugeley III: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
  • Ronald W. Schuler: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Bryan G. Scott: Construction Law, Litigation – Construction
  • David B. Shapiro (Retired, Of Counsel): Corporate Law
  • Grant P. H. Shuman: Litigation – ERISA
  • Ward D. “Jerry” Stone, Jr.: Real Estate Law
  • John R. Teare, Jr.: Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Gerald M. Titus III: Commercial Litigation
  • Robert H. Wall: Tax Law
  • James A. Walls: Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Karin L. Weingart: Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers
  • Hugh B. Wellons: Banking and Finance Law, Biotechnology Law, Financial Services Regulation Law, Securities / Capital Markets Law
  • Derrick Price Williamson: Energy Law
  • Charles L. Woody: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • David L. Yaussy: Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental
About Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
Spilman Thomas & Battle is a full-service, super-regional law firm serving local, regional, national and international businesses. Founded in 1864, Spilman has offices in Charleston, Morgantown and Wheeling, West Virginia; Harrisburg and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Winston-Salem, North Carolina; and Roanoke, Virginia.

 
John F. Allevato
304.340.3885
jallevato@spilmanlaw.com Andrew P. Arbogast
304.340.3869
aarbogast@spilmanlaw.com Michael J. Basile
304.340.3854
mbasile@spilmanlaw.com H. Dill Battle III
304.340.3823
hdbattle@spilmanlaw.com Elizabeth A. Benedetto
304.340.3861
ebenedetto@spilmanlaw.com Samuel M. Brock III
304.340.3888
sbrock@spilmanlaw.com Carter R. Brothers
540.512.1805
cbrothers@spilmanlaw.com Kevin L. Carr
304.340.3877
kcarr@spilmanlaw.com Carl H. Cather III
304.291.7925
ccather@spilmanlaw.com Mark D. Clark
304.340.3876
mclark@spilmanlaw.com Amy King Condaras, CPA
304.340.3781
acondaras@spilmanlaw.com James S. Crockett Jr.
304.340.3824
jcrockett@spilmanlaw.com David R. Croft
304.230.6952
dcroft@spilmanlaw.com K. Paul Davis
304.340.3830
stb@spilmanlaw.com F. B. Webster Day
540.512.1802
wday@spilmanlaw.com Paula L. Durst
304.340.3834
pdurst@spilmanlaw.com Stephanie U. Eaton
336.631.1062
sroberts@spilmanlaw.com Sally E. Edison
412.325.3304
sedison@spilmanlaw.com Patrick R. Esposito II
304.291.7929
pesposito@spilmanlaw.com Lee F. Feinberg
304.340.3831
lfeinberg@spilmanlaw.com David P. Ferretti
304.340.3859
dferretti@spilmanlaw.com Michael S. Garrison
304.291.7926
mgarrison@spilmanlaw.com Nancy A. Green
304.291.7931
ngreen@spilmanlaw.com Laura E. Hayes
304.340.3886
lhayes@spilmanlaw.com Mark E. Heath
304.340.3843
mheath@spilmanlaw.com Matthew P. Heiskell
304.291.7932
mheiskell@spilmanlaw.com Carl H. Hellerstedt Jr.
412.325.3308
chellerstedt@spilmanlaw.com Brian C. Helmick
304.340.3826
bhelmick@spilmanlaw.com William M. Herlihy
304.340.3838
wherlihy@spilmanlaw.com Debra Lee Allen
304.291.7951
dallen@spilmanlaw.com Eric W. Iskra
304.340.3875
eiskra@spilmanlaw.com Bruce M. Jacobs
304.340.3863
bjacobs@spilmanlaw.com Heather Heiskell Jones
304.340.3842
hheiskell@spilmanlaw.com Eric E. Kinder
304.340.3893
ekinder@spilmanlaw.com Clifford F. Kinney Jr.
304.340.3844
ckinney@spilmanlaw.com Neva G. Lusk
304.340.3866
nlusk@spilmanlaw.com Alexander Macia
304.340.3835
amacia@spilmanlaw.com Nicholas P. Mooney II
304.340.3860
nmooney@spilmanlaw.com Glen A. Murphy
304.340.3840
gmurphy@spilmanlaw.com Julian E. Neiser
412.325.1116
jneiser@spilmanlaw.com Joyce Fleming Ofsa
304.340.3847
jofsa@spilmanlaw.com Paul G. Papadopoulos
304.720.3409
ppapadopoulos@spilmanlaw.com Don C. A. Parker
304.340.3896
dparker@spilmanlaw.com Peter M. Pearl
540.512.1832
ppearl@spilmanlaw.com Nicholas S. Preservati
304.720.3437
npreservati@spilmanlaw.com Peter R. Rich
412.325.3319
prich@spilmanlaw.com Susan J. Riggs
304.340.3867
sriggs@spilmanlaw.com David L. Robertson
412.325.3305
drobertson@spilmanlaw.com Edward W. Rugeley III
304.340.3881
erugeley@spilmanlaw.com Ronald W. Schuler
412.325.3302
rschuler@spilmanlaw.com Bryan G. Scott
336.631.1061
bscott@spilmanlaw.com David B. Shapiro
304.340.3853
dshapiro@spilmanlaw.com Grant P. H. Shuman
304.340.3895
gshuman@spilmanlaw.com Ward D. (Jerry) Stone Jr.
304.291.7944
jstone@spilmanlaw.com John R. Teare Jr.
304.340.3813
jteare@spilmanlaw.com Gerald M. Titus III
304.340.3846
gtitus@spilmanlaw.com Robert H. Wall
336.727.7652
rwall@spilmanlaw.com James A. Walls
304.291.7947
jwalls@spilmanlaw.com Karin L. Weingart
304.340.3851
kweingart@spilmanlaw.com Hugh B. Wellons
540.512.1809
hwellons@spilmanlaw.com Derrick Price Williamson
717.795.2741
dwilliamson@spilmanlaw.com Charles L. Woody
304.340.3862
cwoody@spilmanlaw.com David L. Yaussy
304.340.3829
dyaussy@spilmanlaw.com Niall A. Paul
304.340.3874
npaul@spilmanlaw.com Robert R. Leight
412.325.3306
rleight@spilmanlaw.com Bryan S. Neft
412.325.3317
bneft@spilmanlaw.com