Resourcesexpect
PRESS RELEASEINSIGHTS
  • Overview
  • Professionals

Numerous Spilman Attorneys Recognized by Best Lawyers, Lawyers of the Year, Ones to Watch 2023
August 18, 2022
Charleston, W.Va. — Spilman Thomas & Battle (Spilman) announced that 60 of the firm's attorneys were selected by their peers for inclusion on the 2023 Best Lawyers list, 10 were selected as Best Lawyers "Lawyers of the Year," and nine others were selected as Best Lawyers "Ones to Watch."

Recognition by Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review. Its methodology is designed to capture the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical area and legal practice area. More information can be found at https://www.bestlawyers.com/methodology.
 
BEST LAWYERS
The following Spilman attorneys were selected by their peers in their respective areas of practice for inclusion on the Best Lawyers list:
Charleston, West Virginia:
  • John F. Allevato: Litigation and Controversy - Tax, Tax Law, Trusts and Estates
  • Andrew P. Arbogast: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants
  • Michael J. Basile: Corporate Law, Government Relations Practice, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • H. Dill Battle III: Workers' Compensation Law - Employers
  • Samuel M. Brock III: Employment Law - Management, Litigation - ERISA
  • Kevin L. Carr: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Mark D. Clark: Government Relations Practice
  • James S. Crockett, Jr.: Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Banking and Finance, Litigation - Construction, Litigation - Environmental, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Paula L. Durst: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants
  • Travis H. Eckley: Real Estate Law
  • Lee F. Feinberg: Energy Law, Utilities Law
  • David P. Ferretti: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Michael S. Garrison: Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Christopher M. Green: Workers' Compensation Law - Employers
  • Laura E. Hayes: Insurance Law
  • Mark E. Heath: Energy Law
  • William M. Herlihy: Corporate Law, Energy Law, Natural Resources Law
  • Eric W. Iskra: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Bruce M. Jacobs: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Corporate Law, Financial Services Regulation Law, Litigation - Banking and Finance, Litigation - Bankruptcy
  • Heather Heiskell Jones: Litigation - Insurance, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants
  • Eric E. Kinder: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Clifford F. Kinney, Jr.: Litigation - Construction, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants
  • Neva G. Lusk: Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: White-Collar
  • Alexander Macia: Energy Regulatory Law, Government Relations Practice
  • Nicholas P. Mooney II: Financial Services Regulation Law, Litigation - Banking and Finance
  • Glen A. Murphy: Litigation - Insurance
  • Joyce F. Ofsa: Real Estate Law
  • Paul G. Papadopoulos: Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law, Corporate Law, Tax Law
  • Don C. A. Parker: Insurance Law
  • Niall A. Paul: Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Environmental, Litigation - Labor and Employment, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants
  • Nicholas S. Preservati: Energy Law, Natural Resources Law
  • Susan J. Riggs: Utilities Law
  • Edward W. Rugeley III: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions - Defendants
  • Grant P. H. Shuman: Litigation - ERISA
  • John R. Teare, Jr.: Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Gerald M. Titus III: Commercial Litigation
  • Ellen J. Vance: Employment Law - Management
  • Karin L. Weingart: Workers' Compensation Law - Employers
  • David L. Yaussy: Environmental Law, Litigation - Environmental
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania:
  • Derrick Price Williamson: Energy Law
Morgantown, West Virginia:
  • Debra Lee Allen: Financial Services Regulation Law
  • Carl H. Cather III: Banking and Finance Law, Corporate Law, Real Estate Law
  • Patrick R. Esposito II: Corporate Law
  • Matthew P. Heiskell: Commercial Litigation, Corporate Law
  • James A. Walls: Commercial Litigation, Litigation - Labor and Employment
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania:
  • Sally E. Edison: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Carl H. Hellerstedt, Jr.: Employment Law - Management, Labor Law - Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment
  • Bryan S. Neft: Commercial Litigation
  • Julian E. Neiser: Construction Law, Litigation - Construction
  • Peter R. Rich: Employment Law - Management
  • Ronald W. Schuler: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Roanoke, Virginia:
  • Carter R. Brothers: Commercial Finance Law, Trusts and Estates
  • F. B. Webster Day: Corporate Law, Public Finance Law
  • Bryce J. Hunter: Banking and Finance Law
  • Peter M. Pearl: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Corporate Law
  • Lori D. Thompson: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Family Law, Litigation - Bankruptcy
  • Hugh B. Wellons: Banking and Finance Law, Biotechnology and Life Sciences Practice, Financial Services Regulation Law, Securities / Capital Markets Law
Wheeling, West Virginia:
  • David R. Croft: Corporate Law, Tax Law
Winston-Salem, North Carolina:
  • Matthew W. Georgitis: Construction Law
  • Stephanie U. Eaton: Litigation - Construction, Product Liability Litigation - Defendants
 
BEST LAWYERS "LAWYERS OF THE YEAR"
Additional recognitions were awarded to 10 Spilman lawyers with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only one lawyer is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for each practice and location. Spilman 2023 "Lawyers of the Year" are as follows:
  • John F. Allevato: Trusts and Estates; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Carl H. Cather III: Real Estate Law; Morgantown, West Virginia
  • David R. Croft: Corporate Law; Morgantown, West Virginia
  • F. B. Webster Day: Corporate Law, Public Finance Law; Roanoke, Virginia
  • Eric W. Iskra: Labor Law – Management; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Nicholas P. Mooney II: Financial Services Regulation Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Joyce F. Ofsa: Real Estate Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Don C. A. Parker: Insurance Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Susan J. Riggs: Utilities Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Ronald W. Schuler: Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
 
BEST LAWYERS "ONES TO WATCH"
Finally, nine Spilman attorneys also were recognized as 2023 "Ones to Watch" by Best Lawyers. These awards honor extraordinary lawyers who have been in private practice for fewer than 10 years in the United States.
  • Lee D. Denton: Commercial Litigation, Construction Law, Litigation – Construction; Winston-Salem, North Carolina
  • Joseph A. (Jay) Ford: Commercial Litigation; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Steven C. Hemric: Construction Law, Litigation – Construction; Winston-Salem, North Carolina
  • Tai Shadrick Kluemper: Financial Services Regulation Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Sarah E. Kowalkowski: Litigation – Labor and Employment; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Jordan A. Sengewalt: Commercial Litigation; Wheeling, West Virginia
  • James E. Simon: Appellate Practice, Commercial Litigation, Insurance law, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants; Winston-Salem, North Carolina
  • Chelsea E. Thompson: Labor and Employment Law – Management, Litigation - Labor and Employment; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Michelle L. Varga Esposito: Corporate Law; Morgantown, West Virginia
 
About Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
Spilman Thomas & Battle is a full-service, super-regional law firm serving local, regional, national and international businesses. Founded in 1864, Spilman has offices in Charleston, Morgantown and Wheeling, West Virginia; Harrisburg and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Winston-Salem, North Carolina; and Roanoke, Virginia.

 
John F. Allevato
304.340.3885
jallevato@spilmanlaw.com Andrew P. Arbogast
304.340.3869
aarbogast@spilmanlaw.com Michael J. Basile
304.340.3854
mbasile@spilmanlaw.com Samuel M. Brock III
304.340.3888
sbrock@spilmanlaw.com Carter R. Brothers
540.512.1805
cbrothers@spilmanlaw.com Kevin L. Carr
304.340.3877
kcarr@spilmanlaw.com Carl H. Cather III
304.291.7925
ccather@spilmanlaw.com Mark D. Clark
304.340.3876
mclark@spilmanlaw.com James S. Crockett Jr.
304.340.3824
jcrockett@spilmanlaw.com David R. Croft
304.230.6952
dcroft@spilmanlaw.com F. B. Webster Day
540.512.1802
wday@spilmanlaw.com Paula L. Durst
304.340.3834
pdurst@spilmanlaw.com Stephanie U. Eaton
336.631.1062
seaton@spilmanlaw.com Travis H. Eckley
304.340.3890
teckley@spilmanlaw.com Sally E. Edison
412.325.3304
sedison@spilmanlaw.com Patrick R. Esposito II
304.291.7929
pesposito@spilmanlaw.com Lee F. Feinberg
304.340.3831
lfeinberg@spilmanlaw.com David P. Ferretti
304.340.3859
dferretti@spilmanlaw.com Joseph A. (Jay) Ford
304.720.5650
jford@spilmanlaw.com Matthew W. Georgitis
336.727.7642
mgeorgitis@spilmanlaw.com Laura E. Hayes
304.340.3886
lhayes@spilmanlaw.com Mark E. Heath
304.340.3843
mheath@spilmanlaw.com Matthew P. Heiskell
304.291.7932
mheiskell@spilmanlaw.com Carl H. Hellerstedt Jr.
412.325.3308
chellerstedt@spilmanlaw.com William M. Herlihy
304.340.3838
wherlihy@spilmanlaw.com Debra Lee Allen

dallen@spilmanlaw.com Bryce J. Hunter
540.512.1819
bhunter@spilmanlaw.com Eric W. Iskra
304.340.3875
eiskra@spilmanlaw.com Bruce M. Jacobs
304.340.3863
bjacobs@spilmanlaw.com Heather Heiskell Jones
304.340.3842
hheiskell@spilmanlaw.com Eric E. Kinder
304.340.3893
ekinder@spilmanlaw.com Clifford F. Kinney, Jr.
304.340.3844
ckinney@spilmanlaw.com Sarah E. Kowalkowski
304.720.4096
skowalkowski@spilmanlaw.com Neva G. Lusk
304.340.3866
nlusk@spilmanlaw.com Alexander Macia
304.340.3835
amacia@spilmanlaw.com Nicholas P. Mooney II
304.340.3860
nmooney@spilmanlaw.com Glen A. Murphy
304.340.3840
gmurphy@spilmanlaw.com Julian E. Neiser
412.325.1116
jneiser@spilmanlaw.com Joyce Fleming Ofsa
304.340.3847
jofsa@spilmanlaw.com Don C. A. Parker
304.340.3896
dparker@spilmanlaw.com Peter M. Pearl
540.512.1832
ppearl@spilmanlaw.com Nicholas S. Preservati
304.720.3437
npreservati@spilmanlaw.com Peter R. Rich
412.325.3319
prich@spilmanlaw.com Susan J. Riggs
304.340.3867
sriggs@spilmanlaw.com Edward W. Rugeley III
304.340.3881
erugeley@spilmanlaw.com Ronald W. Schuler
412.325.3302
rschuler@spilmanlaw.com Tai Shadrick Kluemper
304.357.4476
tkluemper@spilmanlaw.com John R. Teare Jr.
304.340.3813
jteare@spilmanlaw.com Gerald M. Titus III
304.340.3846
gtitus@spilmanlaw.com Ellen J. Vance
304.357.4474
evance@spilmanlaw.com Michelle L. Varga Esposito

mvargaesposito@spilmanlaw.com James A. Walls
304.291.7947
jwalls@spilmanlaw.com Karin L. Weingart
304.340.3851
kweingart@spilmanlaw.com Hugh B. Wellons
540.512.1809
hwellons@spilmanlaw.com Derrick Price Williamson
717.795.2741
dwilliamson@spilmanlaw.com David L. Yaussy
304.340.3829
dyaussy@spilmanlaw.com Niall A. Paul
304.340.3874
npaul@spilmanlaw.com Bryan S. Neft
412.325.3317
bneft@spilmanlaw.com James E. Simon
336.725.4473
jsimon@spilmanlaw.com Chelsea E. Thompson
304.357.4475
cthompson@spilmanlaw.com Lori D. Thompson
540.512.1807
lthompson@spilmanlaw.com Lee D. Denton
336.727.7646
ldenton@spilmanlaw.com Jordan A. Sengewalt
304.230.6955
jsengewalt@spilmanlaw.com Steven C. Hemric
336.631.1063
shemric@spilmanlaw.com