• Overview
  • Professionals

11 Spilman Attorneys Recognized as "Lawyers of the Year" 2020
August 15, 2019
Charleston, W.Va. —Spilman Thomas & Battle (Spilman) announced that 11 of the firm's attorneys were named 2020 “Lawyers of the Year” by The Best Lawyers in America. Only a single attorney is recognized as such for each practice area in each community.

The Best Lawyers in America, published by Woodward White, Inc., is based on an exhaustive peer-review process in which more than 7.4 million votes on the legal abilities of lawyers were analyzed. More information on the research process can be found at

The following Spilman attorneys were named the Best Lawyers 2020 “Lawyer of the Year” in their respective communities and practice areas:
  • Michael J. Basile: Government Relations Practice; Charleston, West Virginia
  • H. Dill Battle III: Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Samuel M. Brock III: Litigation – ERISA; Charleston, West Virginia
  • F. B. Webster Day: Corporate Law; Roanoke, Virginia
  • Carl H. Hellerstedt, Jr.: Labor Law – Management; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Brian C. Helmick: Project Finance Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Bruce M. Jacobs: Financial Services Regulation Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Nicholas P. Mooney II: Litigation – Banking and Finance; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Joyce F. Ofsa: Real Estate Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Susan J. Riggs: Utilities Law; Charleston, West Virginia
  • Derrick Price Williamson: Energy Law; Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
About Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
Spilman Thomas & Battle is a full-service, super-regional law firm serving local, regional, national and international businesses. Founded in 1864, Spilman has offices in Charleston, Morgantown and Wheeling, West Virginia; Harrisburg and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Winston-Salem, North Carolina; and Roanoke, Virginia.

Michael J. Basile
304.340.3854 H. Dill Battle III
304.340.3823 Samuel M. Brock III
304.340.3888 F. B. Webster Day
540.512.1802 Carl H. Hellerstedt Jr.
412.325.3308 Bruce M. Jacobs
304.340.3863 Nicholas P. Mooney II
304.340.3860 Joyce Fleming Ofsa
304.340.3847 Susan J. Riggs
304.340.3867 Derrick Price Williamson