• Overview
  • Professionals

24 Pennsylvania Counties Selected to Start the Reopening Process on May 8
May 04, 2020
Governor Wolf announced that 24 Pennsylvania counties will move from the red phase to the yellow phase of the reopening plan beginning at 12:01 a.m. Friday, May 8.

The 24 counties announced today are: Bradford, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Montour, Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango and Warren. These counties were deemed ready to move to the yellow phase due to low per-capita case counts, the ability to conduct contact tracing and testing, and the population density to contain community spread.

Additional guidance for the 24 counties noted above will be issued. As regions or counties move into the yellow phase, some closures will remain. Schools, gyms, indoor recreation centers, and hair and nail salons will remain closed. In addition, large gatherings of more than 25 people will remain prohibited, and restaurants and bars will be limited to carry-out and delivery. In-person retail is permitted for these counties, but curbside and delivery is still preferred. The stay-at-home orders also will be lifted.

Counties that remain in the red phase will be reviewed for movement into the yellow phase in the next several weeks. The administration will continue to closely monitor metrics and collaborate with Carnegie Mellon University, health experts, and counties.

The press release can be reviewed here.

The Governor's reopening plan is available for review here.