Resourcesexpect
PRESS RELEASEINSIGHTS
  • Overview
  • Professionals

62 Spilman Attorneys Recognized by Best Lawyers 2017
Charleston, W.Va. – Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC (Spilman) announced that 62 of the firm’s attorneys were selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2017 directory of leading attorneys.
 
The Best Lawyers in America, published by Woodward White, Inc., is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 55,000 leading attorneys cast more than 6.7 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas. More information on the research process can be found at www.bestlawyers.com.
 
The following Spilman attorneys were selected by their peers in their respective areas of practice:
 
  • John F. Allevato: Litigation & Controversy – Tax, Tax Law, Trusts and Estates
  • N.A. “Nick” Ammar, Jr.: Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law, Trusts and Estates
  • Andrew P. Arbogast: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
  • Michael J. Basile: Government Relations Practice, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • H. Dill Battle III: Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers
  • Elizabeth A. Benedetto: Corporate Law
  • Samuel M. Brock III: Employment Law – Management, Litigation – ERISA
  • Kevin L. Carr: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Kevin B. Cartledge: Medical Malpractice Law – Defendants
  • Carl H. Cather III: Corporate Law
  • Amy King Condaras: Banking and Finance Law, Commercial Finance Law
  • James S. Crockett, Jr.: Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Banking and Finance, Litigation – Construction, Litigation – Environmental
  • David R. Croft: Corporate Law, Tax Law
  • K. Paul Davis (Retired, Of Counsel): Corporate Law
  • F. B. Webster Day: Corporate Law, Public Finance Law
  • Larissa C. Dean: Employment Law – Management
  • Paula L. Durst: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Lee F. Feinberg: Energy Law
  • David P. Ferretti: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Elba “Bo” Gillenwater, Jr. (Retired, Of Counsel): Commercial Litigation
  • Mark E. Heath: Energy Law
  • Matthew P. Heiskell: Corporate Law
  • Carl H. Hellerstedt, Jr.: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Brian C. Helmick: Corporate Law, Project Finance Law, Public Finance Law
  • Angela D. Herdman: Litigation – Insurance
  • William M. Herlihy: Corporate Law, Energy Law, Natural Resources Law
  • Lee O. Hill (Of Counsel): Corporate Law, Public Finance Law
  • Debra Lee Hovatter: Financial Services Regulation Law
  • Eric W. Iskra: Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment
  • Bruce M. Jacobs: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Corporate Law, Financial Services Regulation Law, Litigation – Banking & Finance, Litigation – Bankruptcy
  • Heather Heiskell Jones: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Eric E. Kinder: Employment Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment
  • Clifford F. Kinney, Jr.: Litigation – Construction, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
  • Neva G. Lusk: Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: White-Collar
  • Alexander Macia: Government Relations
  • Olin R. Melchionna, Jr.: Trusts and Estates
  • Glen A. Murphy: Litigation – Insurance
  • Joyce F. Ofsa: Real Estate Law
  • Paul G. Papadopoulos – Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law, Tax Law
  • Don C. A. Parker: Insurance Law
  • Niall A. Paul: Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Environmental, Litigation – Labor and Employment, Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Peter M. Pearl: Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Sharon L. “Shari” Potter: Commercial Litigation
  • Peter R. Rich: Employment Law – Management
  • Susan J. Riggs: Utilities Law
  • Stephanie U. Roberts Eaton: Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • David L. Robertson: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management
  • Edward W. Rugeley III: Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
  • Ronald W. Schuler: Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • David B. Shapiro: Corporate Law
  • Douglas T. Stark: Commercial Litigation
  • Dale W. Steager: Tax Law
  • Ward D. “Jerry” Stone, Jr.: Real Estate Law
  • John R. Teare, Jr.: Litigation – Labor & Employment
  • Robert H. Wall: Tax Law
  • James A. Walls: Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Labor & Employment
  • Karin L. Weingart: Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers
  • Hugh B. Wellons: Banking and Finance Law, Biotechnology Law, Financial Services Regulation Law, Securities / Capital Markets Law
  • John C. “Max” Wilkinson: Environmental Law
  • Derrick Price Williamson: Energy Law
  • Charles L. Woody: Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor & Employment
  • David L. Yaussy: Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental
 
About Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
Spilman Thomas & Battle is a full-service, regional law firm serving local, regional, national and international clients. Founded in 1864, Spilman has offices in Charleston, Morgantown and Wheeling, West Virginia; Harrisburg and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Winston-Salem, North Carolina; and Roanoke, Virginia.

 
John F. Allevato
304.340.3885
jallevato@spilmanlaw.com N.A. (Nick) Ammar Jr.
540.512.1803
nammar@spilmanlaw.com Andrew P. Arbogast
304.340.3869
aarbogast@spilmanlaw.com Michael J. Basile
304.340.3854
mbasile@spilmanlaw.com Elizabeth A. Benedetto
304.340.3861
ebenedetto@spilmanlaw.com Samuel M. Brock III
304.340.3888
sbrock@spilmanlaw.com Kevin L. Carr
304.340.3877
kcarr@spilmanlaw.com Kevin B. Cartledge
336.727.7645
kcartledge@spilmanlaw.com Carl H. Cather III
304.291.7925
ccather@spilmanlaw.com Amy King Condaras
304.340.3781
acondaras@spilmanlaw.com James S. Crockett Jr.
304.340.3824
jcrockett@spilmanlaw.com David R. Croft
304.230.6952
dcroft@spilmanlaw.com K. Paul Davis
304.340.3830
stb@spilmanlaw.com F. B. Webster Day
540.512.1802
wday@spilmanlaw.com Paula L. Durst
304.340.3834
pdurst@spilmanlaw.com Stephanie U. Eaton
336.631.1062
sroberts@spilmanlaw.com Sally E. Edison
412.325.3304
sedison@spilmanlaw.com Sue Seibert Farnsworth
304.230.6953
sfarnsworth@spilmanlaw.com David P. Ferretti
304.340.3859
dferretti@spilmanlaw.com Elba (Bo) Gillenwater Jr.
304.230.6954
egillenwater@spilmanlaw.com Mark E. Heath
304.340.3843
mheath@spilmanlaw.com Matthew P. Heiskell
304.291.7932
mheiskell@spilmanlaw.com Carl H. Hellerstedt Jr.
412.325.3308
chellerstedt@spilmanlaw.com Brian C. Helmick
304.340.3826
bhelmick@spilmanlaw.com William M. Herlihy
304.340.3838
wherlihy@spilmanlaw.com Lee O. Hill
304.340.3802
lhill@spilmanlaw.com Debra Lee Hovatter
304.291.7951
dhovatter@spilmanlaw.com Eric W. Iskra
304.340.3875
eiskra@spilmanlaw.com Bruce M. Jacobs
304.340.3863
bjacobs@spilmanlaw.com Heather Heiskell Jones
304.340.3842
hheiskell@spilmanlaw.com Eric E. Kinder
304.340.3893
ekinder@spilmanlaw.com Clifford F. Kinney Jr.
304.340.3844
ckinney@spilmanlaw.com Neva G. Lusk
304.340.3866
nlusk@spilmanlaw.com Alexander Macia
304.340.3835
amacia@spilmanlaw.com Olin R. Melchionna Jr.
540.512.1801
omelchionna@spilmanlaw.com Glen A. Murphy
304.340.3840
gmurphy@spilmanlaw.com Joyce Fleming Ofsa
304.340.3847
jofsa@spilmanlaw.com Don C. A. Parker
304.340.3896
dparker@spilmanlaw.com Ronald W. Schuler
412.325.3302
rschuler@spilmanlaw.com Tai C. Shadrick
304.357.4476
tshadrick@spilmanlaw.com Ward D. (Jerry) Stone Jr.
304.291.7944
jstone@spilmanlaw.com Robert H. Wall
336.727.7652
rwall@spilmanlaw.com James A. Walls
304.291.7947
jwalls@spilmanlaw.com Karin L. Weingart
304.340.3851
kweingart@spilmanlaw.com Hugh B. Wellons
540.512.1809
hwellons@spilmanlaw.com John C. (Max) Wilkinson
304.340.3803
jwilkinson@spilmanlaw.com Derrick Price Williamson
717.795.2741
dwilliamson@spilmanlaw.com Charles L. Woody
304.340.3862
cwoody@spilmanlaw.com Jeffrey D. Patton
336.725.4491
jpatton@spilmanlaw.com Niall A. Paul
304.340.3874
npaul@spilmanlaw.com